South Eastern European Cinema Schools (SEECS) Short Film Festival - IKU, Istanbul, TURKEY (28-30 April 2015)

South Eastern European Cinema Schools (SEECS) Short Film Festival, IKU, Istanbul, TURKEY 

The aim of this festival is to develop the cultural awareness of the students of the member schools of the Southeastern European Cinema Schools Association; to screen the short films of the students and to present the films to other university students, as well as to bring together the filmmakers in order to have them share information and their experiences during the process of filmmaking.
The festival will take place annually at the end of the month of April. For 2015, the festival dates will be 28-30 April. The deadline for submission is 28 February 2015.
The SEECS Short Film Festival will include:
1-Fiction and Documentary film screenings: Screenings that will consist of the films of the students of the members schools of SEECS.
2-Exhibitions, panels and symposium about cinema: Various events that will be about the changing dynamic of Balkan and Turkish cinema.
3-Workshops: High school students invited to the festival will be given classes of screenplay, directing, producing and editing at the basic level during workshops that will take place for the duration of the festival. Furthermore, the workshops will then lead to the making of a short film by the students that have attended. The important of these workshops will be to provide an opportunity for Turkish high school students, who will be at this stage of picking majors in universities, to discover their abilities in the field of production and a platform to develop these abilities, in preparation for university.
4-Competition: The films that will be screened will compete in the categories indicated in the “Awards” section. The content of each category and the awards will be decided by the Advisory Committee.
* The competition films can be no longer than 30 minutes.
* All competition films must be subtitled in English.
* The competition films must have been made a maximum of two years prior the festival date.
* All films will need to have been approved by the schools’ dean or department heads in order to apply to the festival.
The films need to be uploaded to the link indicated on the festival website, with the H264 codec or mp4 format (720*576) in order to apply to the festival
The films that pass the pre-selection and are in competition will be evaluated by the Grand Jury and will be given awards in the following categories:
1- Best Fiction Film
2- Best Documentary Film
3- Best Director
4- Best Cinematography
5- Best Editing
6- Best Screenplay
7- Best Actress
8- Best Actor
9- Best Film Poster
10- Jury Special Awards
* The award winners will receive a statue and a certificate
* The awards will be announced every year by the Advisory Committee. The awards may include money, scholarship and special awards.
* Without the written content of the Advisory Committee of the festival, no award or scholarship can be awarded.
The Advisory Committee will select at least five people who have short film experience. If necessary, these members can be selected from outside of the university. The Preliminary Jury will select the films which fulfill the festival requirements in order to be part of the competition.
The Grand Jury will be formed by the Advisory Committee, and will consist of 5 to 7 Turkish and foreign academics.
* Panels and symposiums organized with national and international filmmakers about all aspects of filmmaking.
* Panels with filmmakers part of the competition,
* Workshops
* Exhibitions about cinema
Prof. Dr. Sıddıka Semahat Demir (Rector of Istanbul Kültür University)
Prof. Dr. Rengin Küçükerdoğan (Assistant dean of the Faculty of Arts and Design)
Prof. Dr. Bülent Küçükerdoğan (Communication Design Department Head)
Prof. Dr. Mehmet Üstünipek (Art Management Department Head) 
Prof. Dr. Işıl Zeybek (Communication Arts Assistant Department Head)
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Deniz Yengin (Communication Design Assistant Department Head)
Assoc. Prof. Cem Kaan Uzunöz (Department of Communication Design
Lecturer Salih Kalafatoğlu 
Lecturer İbrahim Zengin
Lecturer Turhan Yavuz
Assist. Prof. Dr. Okan Ormanlı
Assist. Prof. Dr. Perihan Taş Öz
Research Assist. Şirin Erensoy
Technial Assist.Elif Ertürk
Technial Assist.Duygu Atasoy
Technial Assist.Ömür Kınay
Prof.Dr. Bülent Küçükerdoğan
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Deniz Yengin
Lecturer İbrahim Zengin
Lecturer Salih Kalafatoğlu
Lecturer Nurdan Aydın
Research Assistant Nagihan Çakar Bikiç


South Eastern European Cinema Schools, SEECS, Short Film Festival, Istanbul Kültür Üniversitesi, IKU, Turkey
All rights reserved CILECT ® 2017. Read all the Terms of Use of the CILECT website. Programming by